top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMallory Jackson

A Few Steaks and a Stick of Butter

I can't say a recipe for grilled steak is exactly how I planned on my second blog post going but then again, is anything going as planned right now?


Whether we are quarantined or not, we are approaching one of our favorite times of the year. We love Spring and Summer around this neck of the woods. I grew up having a huge garden that the whole family worked throughout the Spring and Summer. The reward of that is not only good quality time outside in the fresh air, but getting to see the fruits of your labor (quite literally) and enjoy them throughout the year.


With that being said, most Summer nights around here are enjoyed on our back deck with a plate of grilled veggies fresh from the yard. This isn't one of those posts... yet. But I can assure you those will come. This afternoon was so gorgeous that Blake and I decided we had to spend the evening outside grilling. It sparked me to share one of our favorite recipes here.


I wish I knew who to give credit for this "recipe" to. Blake said he thinks he saw it on a video somewhere. I am positive we have made a few modifications to how it originally read (because let's be real - we didn't keep the paper it was written down on to use the second time we made them). I am more of a "throw some stuff on and give it a shot" type of person when it comes to recipes in the kitchen. That will be important for you to know going forward. It will also make me sharing any recipes very interesting. You've been warned. If I say a "shake" of this or a "dash" of that, I mean it. I don't measure so don't even try to ask how much. I have faith that you can do the eyeball test and make it turn out just perfect.


Here's the recipe for the "Best Steaks You've Ever Put in Your Mouth", as described by Blake.


Thaw steaks out and place them in a pan to season. Shake some salt, pepper, garlic salt, and dry steak rub/seasoning on them. We use Redmond's sea salt, coarse ground pepper, organic garlic salt, and an organic steak seasoning we picked up at Target but you can use what you have! Turn the steaks to the other side and do the same. Heat the grill to 550 while the steaks sit in seasoning.

Once the grill has reached temperature, place the steaks on the grill and sear on each side. Blake says to do this for 5 minutes on each side "give or take". This is where the fun part comes in and you get to customize the time. If you're me, and you want to make sure it's done, your steak should probably cook for 5 minutes on each side then rest on the top rack of the grill for a few minutes. If you're Blake and you don't mind some pink, the 5 minute on each side rule is pretty true. Just cut into it and adjust the time based on your pink preference.



While the grilling is going down melt a stick of butter (Kerrygold is our favorite brand) in a pan with a clove of minced garlic. Yep, the entire stick of butter. I tried to cut corners here the first time we cooked them and it turned into a big "I told you so" moment from the hubs. Lesson learned. We usually melt ours in a cast iron skillet on the grill while the steaks cook (Usually..you know, except the time I decided to take a picture. As you'll see, my skillet was already in use so we improvised and melted it in the oven in a pretty dish). Once the butter is melted and you are ready to take your steaks off the grill, add 1 teaspoon of Thyme to the pan of butter/garlic.


We cut 3-4 strips in the steaks before letting them "rest" in the pan of butter/garlic/thyme for 3-4 minutes (if you can stand looking at them that long without taking a bite, of course). Make sure to flip them in the mixture, and rub them with a basting brush so they are nice and coated. (PS - If you don't have garlic cloves, you can easily sub Garlic Salt. I would estimate that we do about 1 teaspoon as a sub. I also try to use my Young Living Vitality oils in my recipes. Two drops of Thyme Vitality does the trick for this recipe.)


Remove them from the Buttery goodness and serve them up. That's it. Juicy, flavorful steaks.


Extra props to you if you can figure out a way to "recycle" the butter mixture. I am thinking it would make a delicious topping to some homemade mashed potatoes but I haven't tried it yet.


I hope you enjoy them as much as we do. Blake (my extrovert) would rather have these at home than go out and get a steak so that's a huge win. I'll do a quick little recap of the recipe below so you don't have to read the entire post every time. I hate it when I have to search blogs for recipes. Maybe you do too.


What's your best tried and true grilling recipe? Share it below if you would like. I would love to start a list.



Blake's "Best Steaks Ever" Recipe Recap:

1. Place thawed steaks in pan and season with salt, pepper, garlic salt, and steak rub/seasoning.

2. Heat Grill to 550.

3. Place a stick of butter and 1 clove minced garlic in a pan and begin melting in the oven or on the grill.

4. Once grill has reached 550 sear the steaks for 5 minutes on each side (plus or minus to your color liking)

5. Remove pan of butter and garlic. Add thyme to mixture. Stir around.

6. Add steaks to butter/garlic/thyme mixture. Baste steaks on each side with butter mixture and let them rest for 3-4 minutes.


Enjoy!



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page